(239) 390-8000 ~ 21500 Three Oaks Parkway, Estero, Florida 33928

Estero Fire Rescue recently held its annual awards banquet to honor those that have gone above and beyond the call of duty.  Nominated by their peers, the awards recognize outstanding performances of individuals employed by the District. 


Employee of the Year: Lt. Grant Schwalbe

Lt. Grant Schwalbe joined Estero Fire Rescue in April, 2003 and quickly became an outstanding employee.  Grant serves as the Union DVP for the firefighters as well as serving as a Commissioner for the San Carlos Park Fire District.  He is never short on service to his community and continues to deliver excellence to the residents and visitors of the Estero Fire District.    


Firefighter of the Year: Engineer Terrence Lindgren

Known for his professionalism and dedication to his job and the citizens that he protects, Terry Lindgren joined Estero Fire Rescue in February, 2005.  His constant pursuit of excellence makes him a real asset to the District and an employee Estero Fire is glad to call its own.



Chief’s Award The Chief’s Award is given by the Fire Chief to those individuals who selflessly serve their community and provide a great example to others.  This year, two individuals were selected to receive this award.

  • Lt. David Ott
  • Commissioner Dick Schweers

Rising Star Firefighter: Mark Diaz

In the short time that Firefighter Mark Diaz has been an Estero Fire Rescue member, he has made a lasting impact.  Words like honor, character and integrity describe the manner in which FF Diaz approaches everything he does.  Joining Estero Fire Rescue in October, 2008 the District looks forward to a long and continuing career with him.  The best is yet to come.

Fire Crew of the Year

Lt. Glen Brownlee Lt. Grant Schwalbe Engineer Michael Maradona Engineer Jason Richards Firefighter William Kinkel Firefighter David Russell  EMS Crew of the Year Battalion Chief Dale Reisen Firefighter Eliel Blanco Firefighter Christopher Martin Fire Marshal Philip Green